First Offense DUI Minimum Penalties in Titusville & Melbourne

DUI Defense From Onek & Mawn, PA

Being charged with or convicted of a DUI in Florida can have serious, long-lasting effects on all aspects of your life. A DUI conviction, even if it is your first offense, can affect your employment, education, housing, family relationships, and custody agreements. If you have been arrested or charged with a first-time DUI in Florida, an experienced DUI attorney can improve your chances of a plea deal and lesser fines and penalties. At Onek & Mawn, PA, our experienced DUI attorneys have more than 76 years of combined experience defending clients from DUI charges in Florida. If you’re facing a first-time DUI charge in Titusville, call us today to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our attorneys.

DUI Penalties in Titusville & Melbourne

Penalties for 1st Offense DUI in Florida

If you’re charged with DUI in Florida and it’s your first offense, you may still be at risk for jail time, fines, revocation of your driver’s license, probation, community service, and imprisonment. Your final sentence depends upon a number of aggravating or mitigating factors which will be brought up by the arresting officer, the prosecutor, the victim input, and your DUI attorney. Aggravating factors are any additional facts or charges that negatively affect the outcome of your DUI charges and can increase the severity of your sentence. Mitigating factors are additional facts that positively affect the outcome of your DUI charges and can lessen your sentence. Examples of aggravating factors include causing injury, death, or property damage while under the influence, having a serious prior criminal record, having prior DUI arrests and/or convictions, aggressive behavior towards the arresting officer, and refusal to submit to a lawful breath test. Examples of mitigating factors include no prior arrest or conviction history, age, no additional charges included with the DUI charge, the strength of your case, and no prior arrests or convictions for DUI or other driving infractions. Here are the most common penalties for a first DUI offense in Florida:

  • Statutory Penalties - Administrative Statutory penalties include fines you must pay to the court. Your fines for a first-time DUI conviction in Florida can range from $500-$1,000. If your blood alcohol content is determined to be 0.15 or higher, or you had a minor in the car with you, the fine can increase to $1,000 - $2,000. If there was serious bodily injury, the fine can increase to $5,000. For a first-time DUI conviction, you will also be placed on probation, either instead of or in addition to your jail sentence.
  • License Revocation - For a first-time DUI offense in Florida, your license can be revoked for six months and up to a year.
  • "Hardship" or Business Purpose Only Licenses - Your DUI attorney can apply for a Business Purpose Only license on your behalf if you meet the standards and requirements. A BPO license would allow you to drive to and from work, school, church, and medical appointments, and to maintain livelihood. If your BAC was 0.08 or greater, you may only be eligible for a BPO license once you have signed up for DUI level 1 school and waived your right to an administrative review hearing constesing the suspension of your driving privileges.
  • Criminal Penalties - You can be sentenced to up to six months in jail for a first-time DUI arrest in Florida, and nine months if your BAC was 0.15 or higher, or if you had a minor in the car with you. Your jail time can increase to one year if there are aggravating factors that aren’t dismissed, and five years if the accident resulted in serious bodily injury.
  • Community Service - For a first-time DUI conviction, you will need to serve at least 50 hours of community service and, with the prosecutor’s or judge’s agreement, the possibility of buying out a number of community service hours at the rate of $10 per hour.
  • Ignition Interlock Devices - Unless there are aggravating factors in your DUI arrest, a judge likely won’t order you to install an IID. Aggravating factors include a BAC of 0.15 or higher, and/or a minor in the car at the time of the arrest.
  • Vehicle Imbolization - Even if it is your first arrest for DUI, your car will be immobilized for at least 10 days. This 10-day period can’t run concurrently with the time you spend in jail for the DUI conviction. However, this condition may be waived if it is the only vehicle and affects someone in your family other than yourself.
  • sobriety-test.jpg

    Do I Need an Attorney for a DUI?

    It is very important to hire an experienced, qualified, and reliable reputable DUI attorney if you are arrested or charged with a DUI in Florida. A DUI lawyer can dramatically improve your chance of a lesser sentence or can negotiate a plea deal on your behalf so you don’t need to serve any jail or prison time. An attorney can also file for a Business Purpose Only license for you so you can still drive to and from work. If you qualify, a DUI attorney can also file a petition to have your DUI arrest and/or Reckless driving conviction expunged from your criminal record. See Fl. Statute §943.059.

    Have You Been Charged With DUI? Call Us Today

    If you have been charged with DUI in Florida, call us today at Onek & Mawn, PA. Our experienced, knowledgeable DUI attorneys can give you the best chance of fighting your DUI charges and lessening the severity of your sentence. We are with you every step of the way, from your initial consultation to your court date and/or trial. We have extensive courtroom experience and have tried hundreds of criminal trials. We’re dedicated to protecting our clients’ rights and ensuring they fully understand the legal process and what to expect during their DUI proceedings. To learn more or schedule a free initial consultation, call us today or contact us online.