Fight Multiple Offense DUI Minimum Charges in Titusville & Melbourne
Multiple Offense DUI Charges
When a lapse of judgment leads to the mistake of getting behind the wheel while ones’ normal faculties are impaired, despite already having one DUI offense on your record, Onek & Mawn, P.A., is here to help. With each DUI charge, the penalties become more severe, and an aggressive legal defense becomes a necessity
Understanding DUI Charges
If you are suspected to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, a law enforcement officer may perform field sobriety exercises to determine whether you can safely operate a motor vehicle. Additionally, after arrest, the officer will ask you to take a breath (intoxilyzer 8000) or urine test. If your blood alcohol concentration exceeds the legal limit (0.08% for adults, 0.02% for minors), you will face the prospect of having to deal with scientific evidence to support the State’s case. Depending on the facts of your arrest, the severity of DUI charges will vary.
The Penalties for Multiple DUIs
Multiple DUIs refers to a person who has previously been charged with a DUI.. If you receive a second DUI offense, the severity of the penalties increases. A second DUI offense is still classified as a misdemeanor; however, you may face mandatory jail time. Additionally, you will be responsible for paying higher fines, between $1,000-$5,000 and the installation of an interlock device.
Third or Fourth Offense
In Florida, if you receive a third or subsequent DUI charge, it may be filed as a third-degree felony. The charges associated with a third-degree felony are more severe, including longer jail or prison time, expensive fines, and, for a fourth offense, the indefinite revocation of your license. Furthermore, a third or fourth offense may require you to attend substance abuse treatment, community service, and install an interlock device in your vehicle.
Simple DUI Charges
A simple DUI charge refers to a first offense without a car accident, a DUI charge where a child is not present or a DUI arrest where there are no additional criminal offenses. This type of DUI charge is often easier to negotiate and, in some jurisdictions, may result in an offer of pre-trial diversion.
Important Factors to Remember in Florida DUI Cases
It’s important to note that if you are arrested on DUI charges, you can lawfully reject field sobriety exercises. In these situations, you may still be arrested; however, there will be less evidence of impairment. You may also refuse to take a breath test; however, if you refuse a breath test, your license will be suspended for 12 months for a first refusal and 18 months for a second. It should be noted that law enforcement may not personally explain to you that you are entitled to contest the suspension, within 10 days, through an administrative hearing. You will find this information on the back of your DUI ticket. Thus, it’s imperative to immediately contact a reputable DUI attorney to represent you in order to protect your freedom and your driving privileges.
What to Do When Faced With Multiple DUI Charges
The penalties involved in multiple DUI charges can significantly alter the trajectory of your life, such as incarceration or paying financially debilitating fines. Therefore, if you are arrested, working with an experienced DUI lawyer is critical to the success of your case.
Trusted Florida DUI Defense Lawyers
When you’re faced with a first or subsequent DUI charge, Onek & Mawn is here to ensure you receive the strategic legal backing you need to negotiate favorable penalty terms. Our experienced DUI attorneys will work tirelessly to advocate for your rights and best interests while devising a strategy to lessen your charges.
Get the Representation You Need to Fight Your DUI Charges
If you or a loved one is in the process of navigating the aftermath of a DUI arrest, Onek & Mawn DUI attorneys are here to help you in this complex process with our hands-on, judgment-free approach. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation.